Twofish's Blog

February 2, 2007

Stop thinking….

Filed under: academia — twofish @ 7:34 am

The challenge for me has always not been to think but to stop thinking.  It’s easy for me to get into a state in which ideas just start pouring out of my head, but curiously it isn’t a particularly pleasant feeling, nor is it useful.  The hard part isn’t coming up with new ideas.  The two hard parts are to be extremely critical about my ideas, and to focus and develop one or two of them.  The reason that I wrote down a research plan to write at most three papers this year is so that I can focus, and wouldn’t be tempted to write twenty, nor would I try to get the papers done tomorrow.  I have a few months.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

