Twofish's Blog

August 16, 2006

Love letter from MIT…..

Here they are. These are the two speeches on Technology Day 2006 that invited me back after fifteen years away…… One was a speech by President Hockfield on MIT research priorities and the second was a speech from Woodie Flowers about a liberal arts education in the 21st century.

http://mitworld.mit.edu/video/373/

It might seem odd to talk about love and passion in the context of institutions and educational, but that oddness is merely a reflection of how mutated our society has become.

The speech by Woodie Flowers is particularly important. I’m using MIT as the emotional center of my efforts to try to improve the undergraduate physics curriculum, and that is because there is an MIT professor willing to get in front of the entire world and say that there is a problem. If someone from University of Phoenix or the University of Texas at Austin were willing to go an a podium and make a similar speech, I’d be putting my efforts in those institutions, but I’ve found that trying to change a large institution that doesn’t want to be changed is a useless and painful experience. No one from UoP or UT Austin has talked publicly about the need for change, so I’ll leave them alone.

1 Comment »

  1. Now that I think about it. I don’t HTFP

    One of the most traumatic experiences I’ve had was when I got rejected by the MIT physics department for graduate school. It was pretty traumatic for three reasons. The first was that I felt like a death warrant for my dreams of an academic car…

    Trackback by Twofish's Blog — August 16, 2006 @ 10:57 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

