Twofish's Blog

August 3, 2006

Hacking in Kendall Square

Filed under: academia, wikipedia — twofish @ 1:52 am

I’m on the tenth floor at Kendall Square in the middle of a bunch of wikipedia geeks. I don’t want to go off to the oven in Harvard Law which is my dorm, yet and there are some things with QuantLib that I want to get done.

Attended SIGGRAPH today. Saw lots of cool stuff. Almost lost my Rebonato book there.
I also saw Steve Colbert’s skit on wikipedia, and I thought it is a hilarious. It’s also moderately scary, because it means that what I’ve involved in has become “real” to a large degree. This is scary when I see something that I’ve imagined and wished for suddenly start coming to being, because I start hoping that what I imagined and wished for is a good thing.

The thing that is interesting about Wikipedia is that it actually seems to have a very small number of full time developers on the code, supplemented by large numbers of volunteers both working on the code, and vast number of peoples adding content.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

