Twofish's Blog

July 26, 2006

Discussion question

Filed under: academia, quantitative finance, university of phoenix — twofish @ 5:46 am

I find it interesting and a little disturbing that there is so much interest about the University of Phoenix.

Let me ask a question.  Suppose that someone were to tell you that the MBA from UoP would have *no benefit* to your career.   You won’t make any more money, and you won’t get any new positions.  Would you still do it?

I studied astrophysics for seven years.  It became pretty obvious very quickly that I wasn’t going to get a traditional academic position, and it’s quite likely that I may never get an academic position.  So what?   I’d still do it because learning new stuff is *fun* and it made me a better human being.

Same with quantitative finance.  I’m learning it partly because I’m interested in getting a Wall Street job, but if some oracle told me that I’d never get a Wall Street job because of what I’m learning, I’d still learn it anyway, because again it is *cool* math and it makes me a better person.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

