Twofish's Blog

July 15, 2006

Why I care about Guantanamo…

Filed under: Uncategorized — twofish @ 5:46 pm

Earlier I talked about why you should care, but there is a reason why I care.

I’m a practicing Buddhist who was raised a fundamentalist Southern Baptist.  Every time I prostrate before Buddha, the voice of my Sunday school teacher comes up saying, “you know you are going to hell for this.”  And then there is the story of Solomon and his foreign wives….

Being a Buddhist brought up as a  fundamentalist Southern Baptist, leaves one deeply confused.  The one thing that I have been able to piece together is that after I die, I’m going to be in front of a judge, who is going to go through everything I did on this planet, and based on that decision, something good is going to happen to me, or something very, very, very bad is going to happen to my immortal soul.  Quoting Revelation 20:12-15

And I saw the dead, small and great, stand before God; and the books were opened: and another book was opened, which is the book of life: and the dead were judged out of those things which were written in the books, according to their works. And the sea gave up the dead which were in it; and death and hell delivered up the dead which were in them: and they were judged every man according to their works.  And death and hell were cast into the lake of fire. This is the second death. And whosoever was not found written in the book of life was cast into the lake of fire.

Buddhism has something similar.  After you die, you come back, and what you do in this life will influence what happens in the next life. So I do get the consistent message that I will be judged after I die.  The trouble is that I don’t know precisely what I’ll be judged on.  Some people tell me that if I bow to Buddha, I’ll end up in Hell.  Some people tell me that if *not* bow to Buddha, I’ll end up in Hell.  I really don’t know.

I know that I am going to be a defendant in a trial.  The trouble with it all is that I know nothing about the trial format, I know nothing about the charges that are going to be brought against me, I don’t know if I’m going to helped or hurt by anything I’m doing know.

But quoting Mathew 25:31-36.

When the Son of man shall come in his glory, and all the holy angels with him, then shall he sit upon the throne of his glory: And before him shall be gathered all nations: and he shall separate them one from another, as a shepherd divideth his sheep from the goats: And he shall set the sheep on his right hand, but the goats on the left. Then shall the King say unto them on his right hand, Come, ye blessed of my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world: For I was an hungred, and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in: Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me:

I was in prison, and ye came unto me.

So I have sympathy for the people stuck in Guantanamo because after I die, I’m going to end up some place similar.  I know that I’m going to find myself in the defendant’s chair.  I really hoping that by trying to get people a statement of charges, a fair tribunal, good legal counsel, and an opportunity to defend their actions, so that the cosmic forces will conspire to give me those things when my trial date comes.

Being cast in the Lake of Fire for eternity sounds rather unpleasant.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

