Twofish's Blog

June 14, 2006

Back from MIT

Filed under: academia, massachusetts institute of technology — twofish @ 9:50 pm

I’m just back from MIT, and I’m in a pretty good mood. My career goal has been to be a college professor (which is a stand in for the goal of being a Confucian scholar-bureaucrat or a starship captain), and right now it looks like there isn’t anything standing in the way of that goal. I might not have the official title of college professor, and I certainly won’t have a “standard” career path, but I’ll be doing pretty much everything that a college professor does (i.e. research, teaching, and community service) and if I work hard enough I might be able to get the “status” of a college professor.

The problem with coming back from MIT is that my brain is just bursting with ideas, and I need to just focus on one or two of them. For the next six months, I think that my focus will be to 1) working with MIT OCW to try to resolve some of the issues that stand in the way of mass collaboration and 2) continuing to work on understanding the Shanghai warrant market. There are dozens of other things that I could do, but I really, really, really need to focus on a few problems. Fortunately, Chinese politics has calmed down enough so that this is no longer a time sink.

I do plan to be in Cambridge about once a month, with possible side trips to NYC. Plane tickets are cheap, and investing a few hundred dollars a month in going to MIT is a good investment. It’s probably a bad idea to be there for too long. The trouble with MIT is that it is too much of a stimulating environment, and I need to get away from it most of the time, so that I don’t wreck my health.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

